Tell Me I’m Exaggerating (CW: Inhuman hatred towards autistics, eugenics, swearing)

night
My feelings after dealing with this conversation

(Yes, I did mention eugenics and hatred of autistics…if you’re autistic you may not want to continue…everyone else, keep going)

nazi2
This is eugenics. This is literally saying that scientific progress will lead to my kind no longer existing. In Nazi Germany and in the US first, disabled people were sterilized to prevent us from spreading our genes, and during the holocaust autistic kids were slaughtered…this vile woman wants that again.

I’m done.

So fucking done.

I have avoided calling the Alt Right and the people doing the hate crimes countrywide that I mentioned in Wait and see? Really? what they are in situations where I wanted to have some remnant of that acceptable activist shtick that I put on to be heard, been articulate so you don’t have to listen.

It’s the tone I had in We are not, the article I linked that I wrote to dispel the myths about my neurology. I kept it when I wrote the latest article for that autistic blog, Disability is politics, especially now (and will continue for that blog, I’m a guest on it after all).

I even managed it in Wait and see, managing to avoid calling the alt right what they are while mentioning salutes, swastikas, and Sieg Heils.

They’re Nazis, and I don’t know how the hell people can actually say otherwise. That comment thread was left on The forgotten history of autism, a TED Talk by Steve Silberman, a friend and the author of the autistic history book Neurotribes, which I reviewed here. In that book he describes, in such painful detail that I had to stop reading for a bit and other autistics just stopped completely, what atrocities happened to my little brothers and sisters in the Holocaust, solely for being autistic. My method of recovering from that shock enough to be able to go back was listening to Tragedy + Time by Rise Against, a song that promises that we all will learn to laugh again.

Now? I’m seeing the same exact attitudes that led to that vileness having a resurgence and it’s utterly terrifying and enraging, and the thing that makes it all more enraging is the people ignoring the reality that we’re living in.

That comment, a comment on an informative humanizing speech about autistics, came from someone who hopes that people like myself eventually will be aborted before we enter the world. A very good autistic friend of mine endured a 45 minute phone call of utter hatred ( he was in total shock) from someone who he thought was close to him told him “This world is too good for an Autistic Fuck like you to exist in.” He no longer feels safe going outside because he has no idea who is like that person…and frankly I can’t blame him.

This is after we elected a President who considers us broken and damaged by vaccines, who elected as his chief strategist someone who said “I’ve got a cure for mental health issue[s]…Spank your children more,” who says he’s going to appoint as Attorney General someone who said the laws protecting disabled students in schools “may be the single most irritating problem for teachers throughout America today” and said they are “a big factor in accelerating the decline in civility and discipline in classrooms all over America.”

We Outcast are experiencing this regime of utter hatred, of people telling us we shouldn’t exist and the world is too good for us to be in it, people saying that the march of progress will involve the prevention of my kind from ever being born, and we’re being told that we’re exaggerating when we call this regime Nazis. When they advocate for eugenics, spraypaint swastikas, make salutes saying Sieg heil, and use Nazi slurs on the press (the thing I didn’t mention in my previous article unlike all the others).

Tell me that I’m exaggerating when someone straight up tells me that in the future people like myself will be aborted.

I’m done pretending to be anywhere near ok with a world that seems to be echoing Nazi Germany far too well, and I’m done pretending to be fine with people who deny it. We need to stand up to this hatred together, and the first step is calling these people what they are by the virtue of their actions.

And yes, that is Nazis, and to be able to ignore that reality is starting to seem like deliberate ignorance of the world that is going up in flames around us.

I don’t have time for people who ignore that anymore, I’m too busy trying to help others affected, aiming to unite us in my rage/activism group The Outcast Army, and dealing with a world which is making it rather clear that it doesn’t feel like I belong in it.

-Laoch Onórach

7 thoughts on “Tell Me I’m Exaggerating (CW: Inhuman hatred towards autistics, eugenics, swearing)

  1. Reblogged this on Melissa Fields, Autist and commented:
    TW: The Holocaust, Eugenics, Hate Speech Against Autistics, Nazis, Trump

    Reblogging this because i am Autistic, and i too have been gravely worried about just these very things, plus the possible loss of my Social Security, healthcare, in home support services,and my housing assistance now that Trump and the republicans are going to be in control.
    Reblogging this because we need to mobilize and fight. Because we can tell the electoral college to vote him out when they make their vote on December 19th. it is clear who really won this election, via popular vote, and it was Hillary Clinton, not Trump.
    Our lives, our very lives are at stake.
    This blog needs to be read and shared widely!!

    Like

  2. This IS what science funded by Autism speaks and such organizations wants. It’s the truth.

    Why do you think there’s so much funding recently into “genetic autism research” – they are looking for bio-markers for Autism so they can screen each person as a potentially carrier or abort the autistic fetus.

    There are also other ways Autistic people are being destroyed by society besides potential eugenics.

    I don’t know why people in the ASD community have not gotten together and protested these policies?

    Like

Leave a Reply

